gluten free chocolate

Is Chocolate Gluten Free?

Chocolate on its own – whether it's dark, milk, or white chocolate – doesn’t contain gluten. However, depending on the flavor, manufacturers will add ingredients that contain gluten, so you’ll want to know what to look for when making your choice.

Table of Contents

What Foods Contain Gluten?

Gluten is a protein found naturally in various types of grain, such as wheat, rye, and barley. Some people have difficulty digesting this protein and can experience sensitivities, allergic reactions, digestive issues, or other side effects. In particular, people with celiac disease, an autoimmune disorder, have to make sure to avoid foods containing gluten.

Why Some Chocolates Are Gluten Free and Others Aren’t

Because there are so many types and flavors of chocolate in the world, you will come across several types that contain gluten. Even though pure chocolate is gluten-free, most bars of chocolate contain at least 10 to 15 ingredients, more than a few of which could contain gluten. These chocolate varieties all tend to contain gluten:

  • Crispy chocolate
  • Chocolate wafers
  • Baked chocolate goods made with wheat flour

Gluten Ingredients to Look Out for on a Label

The following ingredients are likely to contain gluten and are found in many chocolate products:

  • barley
  • barley malt
  • brewer’s yeast
  • bulgur
  • durum
  • farro
  • graham flour
  • malt
  • malt extract
  • malt flavoring
  • malt syrup
  • matzo
  • rye flour
  • wheat flour

Why You Should Choose a Certified Gluten-Free Chocolate If You Have an Allergy

Even after perusing the label for any potential gluten-containing ingredients, some chocolate may still not be totally gluten free. If a chocolate is produced in a facility that also makes other foods containing gluten, there’s a possibility of gluten cross-contamination. In this case your best bet is to choose a chocolate that’s certified gluten-free [1] and has this label:

is chocolate gluten free

Note: The Certified Gluten-Free mark has recently been updated as shown here.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Dr. Bronner’s Magic All-One Chocolate Gluten Free?

 Yes! All Dr. Bronner’s Magic All-One Chocolate flavors are gluten free, as well as organic, fair trade, vegan, and non-GMO. Our chocolate bars are certified gluten-free (to 10 ppm gluten or less), in accordance with the standards set by the GFCO.

Also, there is no risk of cross-contamination potential. Our chocolate is not manufactured on processing equipment that is also exposed to gluten products.

Is Dr. Bronner’s Magic All-One Chocolate Organic?

Yes, Dr. Bronner’s Magic All-One Chocolate is certified organic to the USDA National Organic Program (NOP) standard, which means it contains at least 95% organic ingredients.

Variety Pack - Dark Chocolate Bars

Variety Pack - Dark Chocolate Bars

Good for you and farmers!

Try now!